“Ad gloriam Dei in eius voluntate”

To the glory of God in the doing of His will

The Society of the Sacred Mission (SSM) is an Anglican Religious order, founded by Fr Herbert Kelly in 1893. It currently has three provinces based in the UK, Australia and Lesotho, Southern Africa.


The Society exists to serve the Church, by increasing the number of those given to the ‘Divine Service’, the ‘Conversion and Perfection of Souls’, and the cultivation of the ‘Divine Science’.

Today, we seek to advance those aims by promoting vocation, nurturing faith and spirituality, and encouraging theological learning.

Currently, the work of SSM is centred at St Antony’s Priory in Durham.


Professed members of the Society are men and women who dedicate their lives to the service of God and who make a commitment to live under the conditions of poverty, celibacy and obedience. They may undertake various forms of work either directly for the Society based at their Priories or within Parishes supported by them. Today there are currently four remaining professed members of SSM in the UK.

Scroll to Top